Systems of Human Body Study Guide


There are 11 main human body systems that keep our bodies functioning. See the primary roles of each in the diagram below.

1.            The Endocrine System.

2.            Nervous System.

3.            Respiratory System.

4.            Cardiovascular System.

5.            Digestive System.

6.            Lymphatic System

7.            Reproductive System.

8.            Urinary System.

9.            Integumentary System.

10.          Skeletal System.

11.          Muscular System.


The human body can do many different things. It can digest food, think, move, even reproduce and create new life. Each of these tasks is performed by a different body system—a group of organs and tissues working together to complete that task. However, good health and body efficiency rely on the different body systems working together in harmony.

Human Body Systems

Below are the human Body systems.

  1. Endocrine Body  System.

The endocrine system consists of three major components:

  • Glands, which are specialized cell clusters or organs
  • Hormones, which are chemical substances secreted by glands in response to stimulation
  • Receptors, which are protein molecules that trigger specific physiologic changes in a target cell in response to hormonal stimulation. this system is a part of Human body system.


  1. The Nervous Body System.

The nervous system is divided into the central nervous system (CNS), the peripheral nervous system, and the autonomic nervous system. Through complex and coordinated interactions, these three parts integrate all physical, intellectual, and emotional activities. The nervous system is a part of human body system.

  1. Respiratory Body System.

The respiratory system consists of the airways, lungs, bony thorax, and respiratory muscles and functions in conjunction with the central nervous system (CNS). These structures work together to deliver oxygen to the bloodstream and remove excess carbon dioxide from the body. this system is the third part of human body system.

  1. Cardiovascular Body System.


The cardiovascular system delivers oxygenated blood to tissues and removes waste products. The heart, controlled by the autonomic nervous system, pumps blood to all organs and tissues of the body. Arteries and veins (the vascular system) carry blood throughout the body, keep the heart filled with blood, and maintain blood pressure. Let’s look at each part of this critical system.


  1. Digestive Body System


The GI system’s major functions include ingestion and digestion of food and elimination of waste products. When these processes are interrupted, the patient can experience problems ranging from loss of appetite to acid-base imbalances.

The GI system consists of two major divisions: the GI tract and the accessory organs.

  1. Lymphatic System

  2. Reproductive System.


Female reproductive system

Major female external genitalia include the vulva, which contains the mons pubis, clitoris, labia majora, labia minora, and adjacent structures (Bartholin’s glands, Skene’s glands, and the urethral meatus).


  1. Urinary System


The renal system consists of two kidneys, two ureters, one bladder, and one urethra. Working together, these structures remove wastes from the body, regulate acid-base balance by retaining or excreting hydrogen ions, and regulate fluid and electrolyte balance.


  1. Integumentary System


The skin (integument) covers the body’s internal structures and protects them from the external world. The skin has two distinct layers:

  • The epidermis, or outer layer, is made up of squamous epithelial tissue, which itself contains several layers—the stratum corneum, stratum lucidum, stratum spinosum, and stratum basale.
  • The dermis, the deeper second layer, consists of connective tissue and an extracellular material called matrix, which contributes to the skin’s strength and pliability. The dermis contains and supports the blood vessels, lymphatic vessels, nerves, and sweat and sebaceous glands and serves as the site of wound healing and infection control. Beneath the dermis lies the subcutaneous tissue.


  1. Skeletal System.


The three main parts of the musculoskeletal system are the bones, joints, and muscles.

Leave a Reply