9 Regions of the Abdominal Pain

Abdominal pain is a particularly diffuse periumbilical pain precipitated by eating, abdominal pain is common but often difficult to attribute to mesenteric vasculitis in the early stages.
Nausea and vomiting are common symptoms. Infarction compromises the function of major viscera and may lead to acalculous cholecystitis or appendicitis. Some patients present dramatically with an acute abdomen caused by mesenteric vasculitis and gut perforation or with hypotension resulting from rupture of a microaneurysm in the liver, kidney, or bowel.

There are 9 regions of the abdomen …
If we divide the abdomen with three lines running both vertically and horizontally, you would have the following regions:

Top region

1: Right hypochondriac region / hypochondrium (RHC)
2: Epigastric region (also known as epigastrium)
3: Left hypochondriac region / hypochondrium (LHC)

Centre region:

4: Right lumbar region
5: Umbilical region
6: Left lumbar region

Bottom region:

7: Right iliac region / Right iliac fossa (RIF)
8: Hypogastric region
9: Left iliac region / Left iliac fossa (LIF)



Leave a Reply