eNLC What Travel Nurses need to Know

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) has announced the new Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC), which will replace the original NLC with the long-term goal of enabling all 50 states to enact the eNLC.

The eNLC implementation date is January 19th, 2018. Here’s what travel nurses need to know about eNLC:
If you’re already licensed in a NLC state:
Good news! If you currently hold a multistate license, you’ll be grandfathered in as long as your home state has enacted the eNLC.
If you have a NLC state license in a state that has not enacted the eNLC:
You’ll need to obtain a single state license until your state has passed legislations to join the eNLC. Current NLC states with pending 2017 eNLC legislation include:
– Colorado
– New Mexico
– Rhode Island
– Wisconsin
Nurses working in CO, RI, NM and WI will not be able to practice in the eNLC states without applying for a single state license in those states. Alternatively, states under the eNLC will not be able to practice in a NLC state without applying for a single state license in those states.
If your home state isn’t currently a compact state, but enacts the eNLC:
Apply for and receive an eNLC license, and you’ll no longer need to apply for a single state license in other eNLC states. States enacting the eNLC that were not previously compact states include:

– Georgia
– Oklahoma
– Wyoming

– Florida
– West Virginia
Other states that are not NLC states and awaiting legislation approval for the eNLC include:
– Massachusetts
– Michigan
– New Jersey

What’s required for an eNLC state license?

New applicants residing in compact states will need to meet 11 uniform licensure requirements. Those who do not meet the new licensure requirements may still be eligible for a single state license.
1. Meets the requirements for licensure in the home state (state of residency)
2. Graduated from a board-approved education program or graduated from an international program (approved by the authorized accrediting body in country)
3. Passed English proficiency (international nurses)
4. Passed NCLEX
5. Holds an active license
6. Pass the state and federal fingerprint- based background check
7. No state or federal convictions
8. No misdemeanors convictions related to nursing – approvals are determined on case-by-case basis
9. Not a participant in an alternative program
10. Self-disclosed current participation in an alternative program
11. Valid US Social Security number

Leave a Reply