NCLEX RN Practice Question # 780

NCLEX Examination.

Practice Question # 780.


nclex examination.



There are 12 pairs of cranial nerves that emerge from the lower surface of the brain and pass through the foramina in the skull. Three are entirely sensory (I, II, VIII), five are motor (III, IV, VI, XI, and XII), and four are mixed (V, VII, IX, and X) as they have both sensory and motor functions (Downey & Leigh, 1998; Hickey, 2003). The cranial nerves are numbered in the order in which they arise from the brain. For example, cranial nerves I and II attach in the cerebral hemispheres, whereas cranial nerves IX, X, XI, and XII attach at the medulla (Fig. 60-9). Most cranial nerves innervate the head, neck, and special sense structures.

Leave a Reply